Lower Secondary Years 7 – 9 Curriculum


Meritton’s learning journey continues along the Cambridge academic pathway with the three-year Cambridge Lower Secondary program. A continuation of the primary program but with more subject-focus, learners aged 11 to 14 years are prepared for the next step of their education, providing a clear progression route to any international upper secondary curriculum. The Cambridge Lower Secondary provides a broad and balanced education for students and its qualifications are recognised and highly regarded around the world by universities and employers.


View Lower Secondary Curriculum Map: Meritton Lower Secondary Curriculum Map for Parents 2022-23


Assessment and Standards

We ensure the standards of the Cambridge Lower Secondary Curriculum are met through three methods

  1. Assessing the students strengths, weaknesses and potential at the start of the year using Cambridge recommended  Middle Years Information System (MidYIS).      
  2. Tracking the ongoing, week-by-week progression of our students using the school’s pupil progress tracking system, Classroom Monitor. 
  3. Assessing students at the end of the year through Cambridge Progression Tests (Year 7-8) and externally moderated Cambridge Checkpoint Test (Year 9)


Upper Secondary Years 10 – 11 Curriculum


The next step in our learning journey is the International General Certificate of Secondary Education (IGCSE) which will be introduced for the first time in the 2024/5 academic year. We continue our learning path with the highly regarded Cambridge International Education (CIE) syllabus. IGCSE is an academically rigorous 2 year programme designed for Year 10 and 11 learners. It provides them with the opportunity to gain globally recognised qualifications. It also prepares learners for AS and A Level in Years 12-13.
Each subject is assessed externally with examinations provided and graded by CIE at the end of the second year of study. Some subjects have coursework during the 2 year period which contributes to a learner’s overall grade.

In our first year of introducing IGCSE our Year 10 learners will be offered a broad range of subjects that include:

NOTE: Students will have an 8 period a day timetable with each class being 50 minutes


In future years, as we develop with IGCSE, we will increase the range of subject options available to our learners.
For more detailed information about IGCSE and the subjects on offer, please click on the link below to view our IGCSE Handbook.

View IGCSE Handbook: Meritton IGCSE Booklet.pdf

FAQs for IGCSE for Homeschool: MBIS FAQs for IGCSE for Homeschool

Latest News

Meritton British International School uses cookies to provide you with a great user experience. By continuing to use our site you consent to our use of cookies. Full details are described in our Privacy and Cookies Policy.

Privacy Preferences

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences
  • Necessary
    Always Active

    Necessary cookies are required to help a website usable by enabling core functions and access to secure areas of the website. The website cannot function properly without these cookies and they are enabled by default and cannot be disabled.
    Cookies Details