Curriculum Overview

Academic Rigour


At Merriton we aim to offer a curriculum which is vibrant, broad and balanced. Beginning with the UK’s Early Years Foundation Stage framework (EYFS), Meritton’s academic journey continues with the world-class Cambridge International Curriculum, providing high standards of learning all the way from Primary Year 1 (age 5) to Lower Secondary Year 9 (age 14).



Values-based Education

Values-based Education (VbE) is an approach to learning that puts values at the centre of everyday school life. It creates a strong learning environment that enhances academic attainment and develops students’ social and relationship skills that last throughout their lives. VbE is about learning how to be a good friend, about respect, being responsible and resilient; about empathy, kindness and honesty. At Meritton, we model and integrate these qualities into everyday school life, helping young learners grow in confidence and maturity.

Thematic Approach

In Primary Y1-6 Science, Geography and History are combined and integrated to form Units of Exploration. Other subject areas, such as English, Maths or Art support the theme wherever possible. Thematic learning enables students to make connections between different areas of learning and real life experiences and this assists with understanding and skill acquisition. Student engagement and levels of motivation are also significantly higher.  Subjects are separated in Lower Secondary, however teachers continue to use a thematic approach to make links between them.

Enquiry-based Learning

Enquiry-based Learning (EbL) offers students the opportunity to take more responsibility in their learning, to explore areas of interest, and to go on a learning journey of exploration and discovery.  EbL increases student motivation and is well known to improve critical and creative thinking.

Mindfulness Inspiration

By introducing mindfulness early in life, we are giving children a tool to develop inner calm, balance and resilience that will be available to them through to adulthood. Using simple, meditative techniques, daily mindfulness at school encourages the development of skills like self-regulation, good judgement and patience. It works with values and enquiry by promoting self-awareness and the ability to reflect on the consequences of values-based actions.

Four Pillars of Learning

Integrated into the school’s academic pathway, Meritton offers a unique and holistic educational experience that is achieved through Four Pillars of Learning.

  1. Values-based Education
  2. Thematic Approach
  3. Enquiry-based Learning
  4. Mindfulness Inspiration

Curriculum Maps

View Curriculum Maps for Primary to Lower Seconday [Click Here]


The Meritton Way


Curriculum Overview

Latest News

Meritton British International School uses cookies to provide you with a great user experience. By continuing to use our site you consent to our use of cookies. Full details are described in our Privacy and Cookies Policy.

Privacy Preferences

Allow All
Manage Consent Preferences
  • Necessary
    Always Active

    Necessary cookies are required to help a website usable by enabling core functions and access to secure areas of the website. The website cannot function properly without these cookies and they are enabled by default and cannot be disabled.
    Cookies Details